Date With Fate event music

Date with Fate, Front Act at Musika Alay sa Dagat

Date with Fate opened up at the recently concluded event by Adopt a Species Program titled “Musika Alay sa Dagat”, a benefit show for the marine wildlife watch of the Philippines. The band was one of the few groups who performed that also included local big name acts in the Indie pop scene like Up Dharma Down, Hidden Nikki, Maude, Imelda, Sound Architects and Ourselves the Elves. The event was held at Cervini Field in Ateneo de Manila University.


The show was the first time the band played with its new line-up, so this was a sort of baptism of fire to the new singer of the band, Cyb Escobar, who took the vocal duties from Paula Alcasid after the latter has now focused mainly on her solo career as a singer/songwriter, and for session keyboardist Alec Padua, who also did back-up vocals.

Here are the clips from the band’s short set. Observers who have heard the band before said it’s now edgier, what can you say about the current line-up?

Check out the band’s album on iTunes.

Listen to Cyb on her Soundcloud page.

Also check out Alec’s Soundcloud page.

Date With Fate event music

Date with Fate’s Across the Big Blue Sky Album Launch

Date with Fate have finally released the rebooted debut album (reboot because it now features Paula Alcasid on vocals) which is now entitled “Across the Big Blue Sky”. The launch happened last 18th of December at Black Kings Bar (BKB) in West Avenue, Quezon City with the band performing an hour-long straight set of selected cuts in the album as well as cover songs from the 80s and 90s that include hits from Lisa Loeb, Bic Runga, New Order and more. Some of the original songs’ arrangements performed live were different from the album to have a fresh take and add some variety.

Opening up for the night was Veronica and I, which is composed by lovely couple Mike and Veronica who were backed up by a full band in the event. (Trivia: Veronica sang on DWF’s “Stay Back” early demo version).

Date with Fate are: Paula Alcasid on vocals; Trisha Par on bass; Junats Ibajan on guitar 1 and lead; Marvin Bea – guitar 2 and rhythm & fills; Wendell Quinto on drums.

Check out Veronica and I on Amplify

Date with Fate’s Across the Big Blue Sky, now available in iTunes, Spotify and Deezer.

Here are some of the band’s performances as well as Veronica and I.

Jeff Pagaduan music

Song Collaboration: Live recording Session with Jeff Pagaduan

A few months ago I got the opportunity to record a couple of live tracks with singer/songwriter/sports coach Jeff Pagaduan’s original songs. One is the campy-laid back style “Todo-todo” and the other is one of my favorites “Waves”. Here are the two songs we’ve collaborated. Recorded at Redverb studio. Enjoy listening. 🙂


White Room V.2 Session: Scarface Song

After 7 years of not playing together as a band, Chris Mercado (guitar/vocals), Andrew Harder (bass) and Paolo Vivas (drums) have put up a project called the White Room EP that comprises songs they’ve written before. I was honored to play with them in their recording session.

Scarface Song, written by Chris, was recorded live at Raketship Project Studio in Mandaluyong, with only overdub done on the vocal track.

Watch the live video recording here.

music news

Bangon Pilipinas The Yolanda Project Volume IV

Indiepinoy’s Bangon Pilipinas The Yolanda Project has released volume IV of its series of compilation albums and just like the previous volumes, the proceeds of it will go to those who got affected by Typhoon Haiyan (local name is Yolanda).

The project is a collaborative effort of various independent Filipino artists and through this small way, may bring a big difference in helping out our brothers and sisters in the Southern part of the country.

Volume IV features songs by guitarist extraordinaire senyor Noli Aurillo, Gary Ignacio (formerly of Alamid) and the Saintstreet, Half man Half Elf, Muffin, QT Paduano (Agaw Agimat), Rain Mayo, DJ Angela, Beato and other independent artists.

The album, as well as the other three volumes, are also now available at OPM2Go.

Below is the track listing of Volume IV:

1. Beato – In a World of Neverending
2. DJ Angela – Kapit Kamay
3. Gary Ignacio and the Saintstreet – Hamon
4. halfman halfelf – Buhay Karnabal Yolanda Mix
5. Jeepney Jake – Agila
6. Milky Summer – Paglalakbay
7. Muffin – Come Home
8. Noli Aurillo – Lament
9. QT Paduano – Mulat
10. Rain Mayo – May Pag-asa Pa Ba
11. Rainbow Project – Power
12. SOJ – New Day
13. Yssa Aldreanne – Forever and After